medium-blue-chalk-board.jpg

瑪莉安的故事

2007年,瑪麗安·穆罕默德(Maryan Mohamed)在腿上被槍擊後,與母親,父親和一個兄弟逃離了索馬里的暴力衝突。他們前往烏干達,瑪琳結婚並育有三個孩子。在烏干達成為難民的七年中,一位來自聯合國的婦女反复鼓勵她自己申請重新安置,以便她能夠盡快帶家。女人告訴瑪莉安:“你有力量。”

2013年,瑪莉安(Maryan)和四歲的女兒(Fathi)離開了長子和丈夫在烏干達前往美國。在新來難民的國內醫學檢查期間,瑪莉安得知自己懷孕了。她的女兒納利(Nalyal)於2014年3月出生。那年10月,這個家庭從菲尼克斯搬到了曼卡托(Mankato),短短幾個月後,瑪莉安(Maryan)和法蒂(Fathi)就讀了好律師學習中心(Good Counsel Learning Center)。

Maryan%20and%20girls_edited.jpg

2019年,瑪莉安(Maryan)申請了公民身份;她的考試和麵試計劃於7月初進行。儘管在整個學年都上課,但她仍有很多東西要學習-因此我們允許她和女兒一起上暑期學校!瑪莉安(Maryan)表示對祈禱充滿信心,並告訴我們:“我向上帝祈禱。上帝告訴我,我會過去。”瑪莉安(Maryan)的辛勤工作和祈禱得到了回報:她通過了面試和考試,僅幾週後就成為了入籍公民。成為一名新美國人只是Maryan計劃的一部分:她,Nalyal和Fathi繼續每週在學習中心學習兩個小時,直到COVID-19迫使我們提前結束2019-2020學年。

多年以來,瑪莉安(Maryan)與她的律師勤奮工作,將丈夫,長女和兒子帶到美國。她的第一個挫折是13769號行政命令,該命令禁止難民進入該國120天。接下來,她不得不為自己和生活在國外的每個孩子安排DNA測試,以證明他們之間的關係。每次測試花費家庭$ 800。一家人清除了最後的障礙並開始計劃他們的團聚之時,就出現了冠狀病毒大流行。雖然Maryan繼續提高Fathi和Nalyal的收入,但她還努力籌集飛機票價所需的資金,並通過Skype與家人保持聯繫,並相信這一天將終於使孩子和父母團聚。

您可以支持Maryan,Fathi和Nalyal等學習者。 點擊這裡 或致電507-389-4235致電Dave Coughlan了解更多信息。

unnamed.gif

今年早些時候,Dorothy Zeller姐妹和Dave Coughlan接受了曼卡托診所基金會(Mankato Clinic Foundation)捐贈的1,500美元。基金會的使命是通過促進和改善社區健康的健康計劃來鼓勵和支持我們社區的健康和福祉。該禮物支持學習中心針對家庭的獎學金計劃。

dark-blue-chalk-board.jpg

卡洛斯的故事

卡洛斯·馬爾多納多(Carlos Maldonado)出生在危地馬拉的聖盧卡斯·托里曼(San Lucas Toliman),他是全家九個孩子之一。在經歷了長達36年的殘酷內戰中,卡洛斯(Carlos)是個23歲的年輕人,他自願參加了聖盧卡斯傳教團(San Lucas Mission),為後來被用作圖書館和餐廳的新建築奠定了基礎。在神父的指導下。昏昏欲睡的格雷格·謝弗(Greg Schaefer)和學校的姐妹們,卡洛斯(Carlos)努力工作,並在建築物上取得了穩步的進展。莫琳·奧基夫(Maureen O'Keefe)先生敬畏自己的辛勤工作和能力,問他是否想去美國。他來自一個大家庭,他告訴她,他認為這不可能。儘管內戰迫在眉睫-也許正因為如此,神父。格雷格(Greg)和莫林(Sur。Maureen)致力於安排。僅一個月後,卡洛斯憑一張單程票,憑三十天的旅遊簽證降落在聖保羅。

Carlos_and_Sr._Mary_Donald.jpg

1967年2月,對於這名來自中美洲的新來者來說,天氣非常寒冷。卡洛斯不懂一個英語單詞。卡洛斯(Carlos)在聖保羅(St. Paul)居住期間,三次續簽了30天的旅遊簽證。移民官員最後告訴他,如果他可以被學校錄取,他可以持學生簽證再住四年。他來到了曼卡托(Mankato),在翻譯的幫助下,卡洛斯(Carlos)很快通過了入學考試。他被南方中央學院錄取為學生,並獲得了四年的學生簽證。莫琳·奧基夫(Maureen O'Keefe)先生向卡洛斯(Carlos)介紹了學習中心的創始人瑪麗·唐納德(Mary Donald)先生。卡洛斯(Carlos)是該語言的熱心學生,在六個星期之內,瑪麗·唐納德(Mary Donald)先生讓他在周日彌撒(Sunday Mass)閱讀福音。

carlos%20maldonado_edited.jpg

In 2019, Carlos shared his story with attendees of Shrimpin' on the Hill, our annual fundraiser.

他還被介紹給神父。保羅·哈洛蘭(Paul Halloran)讓他在紐曼中心(Newman Center)從事維護工作。這個機會使卡洛斯(Carlos)有了一個帶床的房間。在繼續就讀南方中央學院時,卡洛斯還得到了卡夫蘭一家在採石場工作的家庭的一份工作。在學習中心和他的工作之間,卡洛斯繼續致力於他的語言技能。他告訴我們說,他從瑪麗·唐納德(Sary。Mary Donald)那裡學到了很好的英語,而在採石場學到了不好的英語。除了在南方中央學院學習外,卡洛斯還曾就讀於曼卡托州立大學。他學習工程學。

在還是學生的時候,他就被3M錄用了。卡洛斯曾在3M的新烏爾姆,聖保羅和墨西哥的多個職位任職。卡洛斯甚至在墨西哥的3M工廠擔任領導職務。當他在墨西哥工作並居住在得克薩斯州的跨境旅行中時,他申請了美國國籍。他現在是美國和危地馬拉的雙重公民。現在已退休,卡洛斯和他的妻子羅莎娜(Rosanna)前往明尼蘇達州的斯科普里,避開危地馬拉聖盧卡斯的炎熱夏天,返回危地馬拉避開明尼蘇達州的冬天。


2018年,卡洛斯(Carlos)在曼卡托(Mankato)會見了他的朋友戴夫·科夫蘭(Dave Coughlan)。他向戴夫(Dave)詢問了瑪麗·唐納德(Mary Donald)先生,他已經50年沒有見到他了。戴夫打了一個電話,一個小時之內,這位前任老師和學生就回憶了過去。他們於2019年再次見面再次短暫訪問。


卡洛斯(Carlos)告訴我們,他很高興自己年輕時冒著冒險離開家人和家庭在聖盧卡斯(San Lucas)的風險。他非常感謝瑪麗·唐納德(Mary Donald)先生一對一地教他,也感謝所有使他有可能實現他的美國夢想的人們。

medium-blue-chalk-board.jpg

Maryan's Story

In 2007, after having been shot in the leg, Maryan Mohamed fled the violence in Somalia with her mother, father, and one brother. They traveled to Uganda, where Maryan married and had three children. During her seven years as a refugee in Uganda, a woman from the U.N. repeatedly encouraged her to apply for resettlement by herself, that she would be able to bring her family soon. The woman told Maryan, “You have the strength.”

In 2013, leaving her eldest daughter and son with her husband in Uganda, Maryan and her four-year-old daughter, Fathi, left for the United States. During the Domestic Medical Examination for Newly Arriving Refugees, Maryan learned she was pregnant. Her daughter, Nalyal, was born in March 2014. The family moved from Phoenix to Mankato that October and, just a few months later, Maryan and Fathi enrolled at Good Counsel Learning Center.

In 2019, Maryan applied for citizenship; her exam and interview were scheduled for early July. Despite attending class throughout the school year, she still had much to learn — so we allowed her to attend summer school with her daughters!  Maryan expressed her faith in prayer, telling us, “I pray to God. God told me I will pass.” Maryan’s hard work and prayer paid off: she passed the interview and exam, becoming a naturalized citizen just a few weeks later. Becoming a new American is only part of Maryan’s plan: she, Nalyal, and Fathi continued to study two hours a week in the Learning Center until COVID-19 forced us to end the 2019-2020 school year early. 

For years, Maryan has worked diligently with her attorney to bring her husband, eldest daughter, and son to the U.S. Her first setback was Executive Order 13769, which prohibited refugees from coming into the country for 120 days. Next, she had to arrange DNA testing for herself and each of her children living abroad to prove their relationship. Each test cost the family $800.  Just when the family had cleared their last hurdle and began to plan their reunion, the coronavirus pandemic emerged. While Maryan continues to raise Fathi and Nalyal, she also works to raise the needed money for the plane fare, keeping in touch with her family through Skype and trusting that the day will come when children and parents will be reunited at last.

You can support learners like Maryan, Fathi, and Nalyal. Click Here or call Dave Coughlan at 507-389-4235 to learn more.

unnamed.gif

Earlier this year, Sister Dorothy Zeller and Dave Coughlan accepted a donation of $1,500 from the Mankato Clinic Foundation. The Foundation’s mission is to encourage and support the health and well being of our community through health initiatives that promote and improve community wellness. This gift supports the Learning Center's scholarship program for families.

dark-blue-chalk-board.jpg

Carlos's Story

Carlos Maldonado was born in San Lucas Toliman in Guatemala, one of nine children in his family.  As a young man of 23 in the midst of a brutal civil war that went for 36 years, Carlos volunteered at the San Lucas Mission, laying the foundation for a new building that was eventually used as a library and dining hall.  Under the guidance of Fr. Greg Schaefer of Sleepy Eye and the School Sisters, Carlos worked hard and made steady progress on the building. Noticing his hard work and abilities, Sr. Maureen O’Keefe asked if he would like to go to the United States. Being from a large family, he told her that he did not think that would ever be possible. In spite of the civil war looming in the background – or perhaps because of it, Fr. Greg and Sr. Maureen worked on arrangements. Just one month later on a one-way ticket, Carlos landed in St. Paul with a thirty-day tourist visa. 

It was February, 1967, and the weather was bitterly cold for this newcomer from Central America. Carlos did not know one word of English.  While living in St. Paul, Carlos renewed his 30-day tourist visa three times.  The immigration officer finally told him that if he could be accepted into a school, he could stay for four more years on a student visa. He came to Mankato and with the help of a translator, Carlos soon passed the entrance exam. He was accepted as a student at South Central College and received his four-year student visa. Sr. Maureen O’Keefe introduced Carlos to Sr. Mary Donald, the founder of the Learning Center. Carlos was an eager student of the language and within six weeks, Sr. Mary Donald had him reading the gospel at Sunday Mass.  

carlos%20maldonado_edited.jpg

In 2019, Carlos shared his story with attendees of Shrimpin' on the Hill, our annual fundraiser.

He was also introduced to Fr. Paul Halloran who gave him a job doing maintenance work at the Newman Center.  This opportunity allowed Carlos to have a room with a bed.  While still attending South Central College, Carlos was also offered a job by the Coughlan family working in the stone quarry.  Between the Learning Center and his jobs, Carlos continued to work on his language skills.  He told us that he learned good English from Sr. Mary Donald and bad English at the stone quarry. Besides studying at South Central College, Carlos also attended Mankato State College. He studied engineering.

 

While still a student, he was hired by 3M. Carlos worked in various positions at 3M, in New Ulm, St. Paul, and Mexico.  Carlos even had a leadership position at the 3M facility in Mexico. While going back and forth across the border working in Mexico and living in Texas, he applied for his US citizenship. He is now a dual citizen of the US and Guatemala.  Now retired, Carlos and his wife, Rosanna,  travel to Shakopee, Minnesota to escape the hot summers of San Lucas, Guatemala, returning to Guatemala to escape Minnesota winters. 


In 2018, Carlos was in Mankato and met with his friend, Dave Coughlan.  He asked Dave about Sr. Mary Donald, whom he had not seen in about 50 years.  Dave made a phone call and within an hour, the former teacher and student were engaged in memories of the past.  They met again in 2019 for another short visit.  


Carlos tells us he is glad he took the risk to leave his family and home in San Lucas as a young man.  He is so grateful to Sr. Mary Donald for teaching him one-on-one and for all the people who made it possible for him to make his American dream come true.